page  <- 1234567891011121314 -> <- 1 .. 6 .. 14 ->
--
--
List results:
Search options:
Use \ before commas in usernames
Seriously Spider-Waffle, you're arguing that you should be allowed to make speedrunning easier. You can cover it in layers of bullshit all you want but at the end of the day, scripts make it easier. They trivialise things you should be keeping tabs on yourself. That is why people don't like scripts. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to realise that and it certainly doesn't take gods-gift-to-half-life to explain it.

If you can't do it yourself, what's the point?
Visit my profile to see my runs!
[WARNING: MONSTER POST BELOW... I'm a wannabe lawyer as Enhasa so hysterically put it]  I tried not to post for as long as I could.

Okay, I've been trying to figure out what the biggest problem in this scripting issue has been, and I think I've come to the conclusion that it is, in fact, a meta-issue.  That is to say, the real problem with the issue is about the fact that it has become an issue, not the several propositional arguments being tossed by each side. 

Generally speaking, I've sided with the non-scripters for a couple years now, so sorry Spider-Waffle I'm one of the stubborn idealists.  However, I'm trying to say something new in this post, so I hope I have succeeded.

The reason this problem has become a meta-issue, if I'm not mistaken, is because the issue has now earned a permanently divisive status in the community, as far as anyone can tell.  And, the only way to deal with those kind of problems is to come to a universal resolution (I say universal because the current SDA stance on scripting is sort of a compromise resolution).  Of COURSE the difficulty lies in determining which universal resolution, universally allowing them or universally prohibiting them, satisfies the goal of SDA more properly.  This is the issue most people here have been debating for some time.