--
List results:
Search options:
Use \ before commas in usernames
Game Page: http://speeddemosarchive.com/Grandia.html

Grandia (ntscus) (psx) [Any %] [Segmented]

Verifier Responses

Quote from LCC:
As a preface, I have only learned the Grandia run up to Chang, but have watched runs in the past so I am familiar with how it plays out. I am by no means an expert on the game.

Overall movement looked good to me throughout the entire run. All extra encounters fought were either routed in or undodgeable. I'm not familiar enough with the route to say whether or not all the shopping and item pickups were necessary, but i didn't see anything that looked bad, so I'll assume you know what you're doing. The amount of segments could have been cut down a bit, since some just seemed like you didn't want to watch a cutscene every time you attempted a section. Segment 94 for example was literally just 1 menu then you resaved at the same save spot.

Rock Bird could be improved by using auto battle instead of choosing commands. It shouldn't take long to get a good segment that is at least 20 seconds faster than the one in the video.

In the early game skills tend to waste time from menuing+charge time and they don't give a major damage increase unless you get a counter for bonus damage and cancel chance. They don't give any extra weapon xp compared to combo attacks either. I think other bosses could have been a bit faster using auto battle more as well on segments 6-9 (after using magic+items ofc).

I wonder if the water grind on Segment 15-16 could be cut shorter. I know RTAs i have seen recently do very little grinding here but i'm not very familiar with all the route differences to make a judgement call on this. I know you end up getting better spells early, more hp and faster charge time on water spells as a result of doing this.