--
--
List results:
Search options:
Use \ before commas in usernames
Edit history:
OldHalcyon: 2013-07-19 09:43:56 pm
Edit: nevermind, I'm an idiot; sorry! Smiley
Hello Bastion runners! I just started learning NG+ Any% and I can get pretty much every skip consistently, except for one part. The first Pike Vault skip on Cinderbrick Fort. I see that most people use the bottom right corner to jump from, but I see that RedBuddha uses a faster strategy by jumping from a little higher up. I cannot seem to get either one very consistently.

When I try the jump, I cancel the roll as fast as possible and as close to the edge as possible. I also make sure the jump is completely straight, no angle skew after the jump. Is this the correct way to do it?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Changing direction when you're in the air seems to give you a little extra distance (the angle skew you mentioned). I normally start my jump going up-right, then in mid-air switch to going directly up. I also use the bottom right corner (but as you said RedBuddha jumps a little further up). It'll be a little faster jumping from where he does, but I personally find it less consistent.

Also make sure you're using mouse movement, as this jump is impossible (or near impossible?) with WASD/Xbox controller.
Oh okay, thank you explaining this! I'll have to practice the angle skew. I reviewed other runs and it seemed like that's what people were doing but I couldn't really tell. Yeah, I'm not sure which way is more comfortable for me yet. I started learning it with RedBuddha's method, and learned the bottom right one after. I would only get it 1/10 times for either one.

Yes, I use mouse for speedrunning. I started playing this game with controller though, and I miss it lol.

Thanks for the quick response Cereth, glad there's still some runners left for this awesome game. Smiley